The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has released the 2015 list of counties where health plans must provide information in a language other than English for individuals, as well as employers buying through Small Business Health Options Program (SHOP), on the federally-facilitated marketplace.

Under the Affordable Care Act, non-grandfathered health plans and carriers are required to provide a summary benefits of coverage (SBC) and uniform glossary  in a “culturally and linguistically appropriate matter” when more than 10% of a population in a county speaks a language other the English. Those languages include Spanish, Chinese, Tagalog and Navajo. (The full list can be viewed here)

Register or login for access to this item and much more

All Employee Benefit Adviser content is archived after seven days.

Community members receive:
  • All recent and archived articles
  • Conference offers and updates
  • A full menu of enewsletter options
  • Web seminars, white papers, ebooks

Don't have an account? Register for Free Unlimited Access